Thread: Need info on Gas Turbine Factory Acceptance Test (help!)

Associate Engineer

Need info on Gas Turbine Factory Acceptance Test (help!)

Dear fellow engineers,

Just a brief info about myself. Basically I am a young engineer, just graduated and currently working for an oil and gas company. Recently the project I am involved in acquire a new engine (via engine exchange ) with a Gas Turbine vendor.I was assigned to go for FAT/ visit to the vendor factory to witness tests , etc on the newly acquired engine.

Just wondering, since I am still new, I need to know certain info regarding the FAT trip :-

1) the tests that are normally and usually conducted during FAT for Gas Turbine and
    2) the significance/purpose of those tests and also on the FAT.
    3) I also heard there will be a turbine package assembly inspection during the visit. What activities will be conducted during this inspection and
    4) the significance / purpose of the activities for the said inspection

Due to my inexperience, hopefully you guys can assist me, help me out on the info requested and give me a few pointers here and there.

Really appreciate the help and Thanks in advance!

Thanks,

Ric.

Associate Engineer
    Just to add,

The vendor provide the activities below during testing.

- Start sequence and safeties verification.
    - pre-lube verification.
    - seal and rotor break-in.
    - engine / accessory gearbox break-in.
    - hot restarts.
    - mechanical acceptance requirements.
    - cold starts.
    - lightoff and acceleration.
    - deceleration.
    - oil leakage observation.
    - lube oil system limits.
    - turbine cooling system parameters.
    - engine vibration limits.