Thread: Help! Thread terminology!

Associate Engineer

Confused Help! Thread terminology!

I feel a little stupid having to resort to a forum for this! (But hey, I'm in my first year of work.)

I have designed a barrel assembly for a paintball gun. It consists of two tubes that screw together. Not terribly complicated at all. However, when fully tightened there are details on the two parts that need to line up. What is this called?! I know the threads have to be (blank.) I've racked my brain and Googled my brains out with no results.

Technical Fellow
    It's OK, we all get blocks like that. The older you get the more you get.

The word(s) you are searching for is "Registered," "Register" or "Registration."
    Last edited by PinkertonD; 12-27-2012 at 12:37 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by PinkertonD View Post
    It's OK, we all get blocks like that. The older you get the more you get.

The word(s) you are searching for is "Registered," "Register" or "Registration."
    which is not an easy thing to do reliably with most typical threaded parts.

More info please?

Technical Fellow
    Yup, JB is correct. I thought some more about this and wondered if you have given it enough design thought. There are many better ways to have threaded items aligned precisely. Cutting threads to arrrive at the desired tightness, air/gas/waterproof-ness, alignment etc is not an easy or good thing for production considerations.

Perhaps as JB suggests, giving us a sketch of what you are trying to achieve and we can provide some alternative considerations. Given the mess the "experts" made of the Patent system a couple of years back, be careful in divulging important stuff. It is no longer enough to be the mere-inventor in order to lodge/steal /claim the Patent rights.

Ahhh progress, alas, but I remember it well.

Associate Engineer