Thread: Mechanical Engineering. Motor Sizing

turner91

Mechanical Engineering. Motor Sizing

I am a freshman mechanical engineer and I do not believe that I have taken enough physics or statics to accomplish this task in a timely and correct manner. I am an intern at a government contracting company and am building a model of an AAV track system to test different coatings on. I need to know what size motor I will need to run this so I need to know how to do all of the calculations of torque and make sure it can run.
    The track is 140" long and will weigh around 750 lbs. It runs on a sprocket that is 24 inches in diameter and is at a 28 degree angle from the single road wheel (also 24 inches in diameter) that will be touching the belt its running on. How would i account for all of the forces ( including a lot of friction from the gravel its running on)? I am guessing that the sprocket and road wheel each weigh around 100 lbs. Sorry if this is laid out poorly. Let me know if I can clarify anything.

Technical Fellow
    This project may be clear in your mind, but you have not even come close to describing what you are requesting assistance with.
    What does it matter if the track weighs 750-lb?
    "It runs on a sprocket..." What is "it?"
    How can "it" run on a sprocket? A chain can run on a sprocket.
    Where is the belt? What is it's purpose?
    If it is a "road wheel" then how is it running on a belt?
    28 degrees from what? Vertical? Horizontal? The angle of the bridge of my nose?
    You need to post a drawing, sketch or a picture. So far, to this feeble old mind, none of what you have outlined makes any sense.

I fear for the future of Engineering. :O

Dave
    Generally, I will not give you the answer to your question, but I *will* guide you into discovering how to solve this yourself.
    Insanity: "doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results." Albert Einstein

Principle Engineer