Thread: Strength of material knowlege base requirements

Associate Engineer

Strength of material knowlege base requirements

I'm a Mechanical Designer, who's been in the field for a considerable time. For the most part when material stresses where concern, engineers within the organization would take on this responsibility. As a result, I never really have acquire full exposure of this knowledge. You could say I have a basic understanding of the force to stress to strain relationship. I'm of course acquiring this knowledge on my own by referring to different medias (Machinery Handbook, engineering books & texts, online resources etc.), but there is considerable information to cover. I at least would like to acquire a knowledge base to determine stress loads, whether static or dynamic, but since there is so much information available, I don't if I'll be reviewing more than I require.

My questions:
    What would be the requirements to acquire this knowledge base?
    Where can I find good text or resources to acquire this knowledge base?
    Is it a good idea to take some college courses and what would they be?

I thank you for any assistance you can provide.

Thank you,
    Izzzy

Hi Izzzy and welcome to the forum.

It's a pretty broad brush stroke you're painting there but I'll throw this out there for you to consider...

If you can afford, in both time and money, to take some classes... That'd be your best bet. The classes will help keep you on track and push you forward. If you start out with an entry level physics class you can see how it goes and your professor can help point you in the right direction far as any future classes or suggested reading. If you'd rather go it on your own then take a look around a local college book store and grab a book or two. Most local schools will have a used book store nearby which could save you a good bit of money.

Good Luck,
    Bob

Izzy,