Thread: Pressing a steel pipe

Bang Head Pressing a steel pipe

Hello everyone,

I am new to this form but I bring a question that has been troubling me.
    As a donation to the city, I am designing, prototyping and manufacturing emergency kiosks at-cost.

I am having some issues determining the best manufacturing process and assistance would be appreciated.

The body of the kiosk is made from 12" steel pipe with 1/4" walls. Here is where I run into my issue.
    Images
    Capture.jpg
    (side view with angles and measurements)

Capture1.jpg
    (front view, to get a idea of whats going on)

I have no idea how that shape should be made. So far I have come up with two possible methods.

The first method I thought of was to have the control surface portion MIG welded in.
    The second method was to have the unit cold pressed with a die.

The first method seems to be easy enough, but I would like to avoid welds for cosmetic and labor reasons. Is there another welding method that is easier to conceal?
    The second method seems better if it were to be mass produced but I am worried as to what the excess steel would do. What would the excess steel do?

I would enjoy anything I can learn from. For the design and prototype phase of this project, I am a one man army.
    Last edited by wyattwic; 02-24-2013 at 12:06 PM.

Technical Fellow
    Welcome,

I would first have to ask, why are you crushing or changing the shape of the pipe? By squishing it down to such a shape and dimension you are losing an enormous amount of strength as a support member. Are you sure this is what you need to do?

I would want to know a lot more about this style of connection before offering a suggestion on how to make them.

I suggest you rethink the method as it is not what I would regard as a good use of materials regarding load carrying etc.

Just one old fart's opinion.
    Last edited by PinkertonD; 02-24-2013 at 12:02 PM. Reason: speeling

Thank you very much PinkertonD for your input,