Thread: Hello All!

Associate Engineer

Hello All!

Hello, new to this forum and just wanted to introduce myself to everyone and tell you a little bit of what I do and what I aspire to be! I currenty work for Lexus and have been with them for a little over two years and I've been with Infiniti for a year prior to that. I'm a ASE/CA-certified automotive technician (grease monkey) whatever title you guys seem fit and it's the profession that I chose. Anyways, I've always been fascinated by the role the engineers play with the products we fix and wonder why some things are they way they are. I was a part-time student during my tenure here and decided to switch to full-time to better focus on my long term goals. Enough about me, what does everyone here do for a living and why did you choose that particular career path?

Welcome to the forum. I chose mechanical engineering with a specialty in machine design because I grew up around it and inherited my father's fascination with all things mechanical. I wanted to know the reasons why certain concepts work, and why some don't. I graduated from college over 30 years ago. Since then I have treated every day as another opportunity to learn and have not regretted a minute. If you approach life that way, even the mistakes and failures have value. They are tuition paid in the school of hard knocks.

Hello, Dennis.

Welcome to the forum. Thanks for sharing your info. I have had an interest in all things mechanical since I was young, as well. My dad got me hooked on it as he and I tinkered on his old Austin Healeys and Morgans. As that fuse was lit, I started doing what you do (turning wrenches) as a means to get through college. I was fortunate enough to have a fantastic employer who taught me well. I came in on the ground level, sweeping floors and working in the engine teardown area and the "dirty room." As my skills grew, I was able to work as a machinist for about 6 years after I got out of school.