Thread: Questions about transmitters and receivers

Associate Engineer

Questions about transmitters and receivers

First off let me say that I was registered on this site many years ago but have been absent long enough that I had to re register. This is my first post in a long while. Sure glad this site is still operating.

A bit of background for my question. I am a farmer and we have installed a water system where we are pumping water from a well up a hill to a water storage tank which then gravity feeds several frost free hydrants around the farm for livestock and irrigation of garden crops. Now the well only produces about 4 gallon per minute- thus the storage tank. The tank is underground so the system can be used in the winter if necessary. The system is in place except for a float in the tank and the wire necessary to connect the float to the system. The reason that this is not yet connected is directly related to cost. The tank is 450 plus feet from the well and normally the system would be installed with a wire running to the float switch and another wire running back down to complete the circuit when the float called for water. The pump is 3/4 horse and although it is 300 feet down in the well, it can be operated with a 20 amp double pull breaker in the shop (closest building to the well) and currently has #8 gauge wire to the pump from the shop. . However, I am concerned that if I am to run wire up the hill 450 plus feet to the float and tank, I would need to run #6 wire up the hill for the distance and that starts to get real expensive to the tune of $1500 plus just for the two wires to the float from the well. My thinking is that I would probably need to replace the #8 wire with #6 as well. Let me know if I am off on this. I was quoted $1.69 per foot for #6 gauge wire making the cost for the wire to the float over $1500.00 and another $600 plus to replace the existing wire.