Thread: Is it possible to calcuate this?

Associate Engineer

Is it possible to calcuate this?

Hello there... I am not an engineer so please excuse my ignorance if I am missing some important information but I'm wondering if its even possible to calculate this... What would the ideal size of motor be (speed/torque) to elevate a 20mm OD threaded rod 1100mm in approx. 30 second while lifting a 30KG load. The thread rod passes through two 25mm bushes and can connect directly (inline) to the shaft of a 12/24v electric motor. The speed of the motor and the thread pitch of the rod would ideally be commonly available parts. Any assistance would be greatly appreciated. Apologies if this sound complex. Thx. Pete

Associate Engineer
    Quote Originally Posted by peteinsg View Post
    Hello there... I am not an engineer so please excuse my ignorance if I am missing some important information but I'm wondering if its even possible to calculate this... What would the ideal size of motor be (speed/torque) to elevate a 20mm OD threaded rod 1100mm in approx. 30 second while lifting a 30KG load. The thread rod passes through two 25mm bushes and can connect directly (inline) to the shaft of a 12/24v electric motor. The speed of the motor and the thread pitch of the rod would ideally be commonly available parts. Any assistance would be greatly appreciated. Apologies if this sound complex. Thx. Pete

Hi Pete,