Thread: Double Plus or Minus Tolerances

Associate Engineer

Double Plus or Minus Tolerances

This may or may not be the correct place to ask tnis question but here goes. The company I work for is manufacturing rplacement and repair parts for aircraft made in Israel. Some of the drawings are in metric and some are in SAE and some have a combination of both. I am a machinist not an engineer so please forgive me if I use the incorrect terms for my descriptions. Some of the metric drawings use a double minus (-.027mm,-.034mm) tolerance or a double plus (+.027mm,+.034mm) tolerance. Based on my experience this would be interpreted as the nominal diemenision (theoretical desired size) with a unilateral tolerance of -.027mm, -.034mm. I have been told this is not correct and they have no evidence to back this up except there past experience. I was told this is a european tolerancing method. but can not fine the needed standard for this method. this is the way it was explained to me I just need some hard evidence to back this up.

8.00mm nominal size
    tolerance on drawing -.027mm,-.034mm
    8.00mm-.027mm = 7.973 actual desired size
    8.00mm-.034mm = 7.966 minum actual desired size
    total unilateral tolerance = -.007mm
    Is this correct? What drawing standard is this covered by?
    Thank you in advance for any and all help. If I need to provide a better example please let me know.
    Last edited by Kelly_Bramble; 09-02-2013 at 08:38 PM. Reason: Better Title

Welcome to Engineers Edge...

First, the drawings are either ISO, ANSI or ASME not SAE...

ISO - International Standards Organization
    ANSI = American National Standards Institute
    ASME = American Society of Mechanical Engineers

Expressing dimensional data with double minus or positive is not wrong (different maybe), this practice is very ISO btw. These tolerances may have been derived from ANSI B4.1 or ANSI B4.2 or ISO 286 (part I & II).