Thread: College project help request

Associate Engineer

College project help request

My college project is to make a product or to improve existing one,the catch is that it has to have at least 15 parts. Also we were divided in groups of 3 students per group and it seems to me my team is not interested in doing this,so I am thinking of asking my professor to work alone.
    My request is: Are there any ideas someone can give me to start with,I know this is stupid,but I am 22 yrs old I have no practical experience at making this kinda projects, so if someone can help me in anyway,maybe some rough sketches or just an idea of something simple yet effective, I would appreciate it very much.
    btw I work in AutoCad 2008 (old but gold) and I am trying to install Inventor 2011 to my PC.

Thanks in advance

Mouse
    Last edited by Mouse; 10-17-2013 at 02:04 PM.

Welcome to the forum,... and to real life. Don't worry though. Your teammates will be glad to share in the credit!

I would suggest that you just look very carefully around your own world. Find some SIMPLE device (did you get that word? SIMPLE) that you use quite often, and just start asking yourself how you could make it easier, or faster, more useful, or if you really want to get a lot of brownie points in today's politically-correct world, more "green" (whatever the hell that means). My first college design project was a bathroom door lock that could be unlocked from the outside if necessary, like if a child was locked in a bathroom.

Really wish I'd done mech. eng. now. My first time team project was a 3 storey leisure center!

JBoggs has it spot on with K.I.S.S. principle.

Quote Originally Posted by Mouse View Post
    My college project is to make a product or to improve existing one,the catch is that it has to have at least 15 parts.
    Seems like a vague request to me... Are we talking about fit, form, function, manufacturability, costing, market-ability, or what?

Associate Engineer