Thread: Spring help

drummerdad

Spring help

New guy here. I have some questions about springs, and their application.
    My disclaimer is I am not an engineer, which will become obvious in just a minute. I am trying to design a new bass drum pedal. I have been playing drums for years, and have always wanted to make a better drum pedal. I have been sketching and designing on it for a few years now, and I need some expert advice on springs.
    The industry standard is an extension spring. My problem with that is threefold. 1) they get weak over time. It is usually noticeable inside a year. 2) the spring rate is linear(?) It starts at say 3 lbs, and increases on a curve to around 15 inside a short distance. 3) everyone uses them. Maybe they are cheap, maybe they are the best spring for this application. I dont know.
    I want to use either a composite leaf spring, a gas spring, or a torsional spring (a wrapped spring or torsion bar can be made to work). But what is best? Most of you are probably familiar with the base drum pedal. The drummers foot sits on top, and he/she pushes down, and it pushes the beater into the head. I have an idea of how I want it to look, but I am at the point I need to make sure my ideas on the spring type arent going to kill the idea. I looked up a few articles online about how to determine the properties of a spring, and it might as well have been written in martian.
    I dont have a lot of specifics honestly. But I probably would not understand a specific answer anyway. Is there an advantage to using a specific type of spring?
    Forgive my layman terminology and lack of understanding. I am an aviation mechanic, trying to design a new pedal for my business, which I am just starting up.

Welcome to EE!

Sounds like you're looking for an extension spring that lasts longer?