Thread: Require help with communications question

Associate Engineer

Require help with communications question

Hello,

I'm not an engineer so please excuse my ignorance regarding this question.

I want to be able to measure a distance to an object. For example, let's say we were playing golf and I wanted to know exactly how far away I was from the hole, exactly! I know we can do this via satellite navigation (and there are products out there that can already do this), but is there another solution? If I was to attach something to the hole (or the flag that goes in the hole) that sends a signal to a receiver I am holding, would that be possible?

What sort of technology could do this job consistently? Radio?

Thank you kindly in advance for your help.

Engineer
    Something based on sonar. If you had a speaker on the flag pole which emitted a short burst of audible or ultra-sonic sound, and then had a microphone where you were standing, ready to pick up the noise. Then all you need to do is measure how much time there is between the speaker making the sound and the microphone picking it up, multiply that by the speed of sound and you have your distance.

I assume you want this to be wireless? If so, it gets a bit more complicated because you have to factor in the time it takes for your receiver to send a signal to the flag pole telling it to make a sound, but there are certainly ways of doing it. And it's likely to be cheaper than GPS.

Associate Engineer
    It would have to be more immediate than that. I'd like to be able to look at a small device and see the distance calculated digitally. Just like you would for a handheld GPS device, but without the GPS. There must be a more simpler technology, no?

Engineer
    Sorry, when I was talking about "you" measuring time taken and doing the calculation, I didn't mean you sat there with a stopwatch and a calculator. That was just my laziness and shorthand, my fault!