Thread: re: load bearing angle iron load question

Associate Engineer

re: load bearing angle iron load question

I am not an engineer, but have knowledge on the building sciences side so please be patient with me.

I have an old home that uses imbedded beams inside concrete block to support the first floor only. The basement is being insulated. I know that when you insulate the rim joists, the exterior side of the joist becomes colder, increasing condensation potential and rot. I am dealing with this situation by intentionally passively heating the joists with metal bars, which has been proven to help, but not foolproof.

What I want to do is to add angle iron under the joists which is bolted to the block wall. What this does is support the joists to the interior of the cold spot. For your interest, see page 30 in this document for a picture.

expt_mtg_mass_masonry.pdf

The joists are 2"x8" 12" O/C" spanning 13' with a 3/4" wood floor, 3/4" plywood subfloor and 3/4" cross panel floor. Due to an issue with the current subfloor and slab, i can't use metal columns underneath.

I wanted to know what size of angle iron to use to bolt against the concrete wall, and what size sleeve anchors are recommended for concrete block.

thanks for your help
    -g
    Last edited by Kelly_Bramble; 12-18-2013 at 01:25 PM. Reason: Attach PDF Directly

Several thought come to mind...

First, sealing the wood will prevent rotting due to water developed condensation.

Second, not having any information on loading requirements I would suggest any steel angle that is sufficiently large enough to accomodate the anchor bolts and the joist. Or, for simplicity larger is better...

See Structural Steel Shapes or Structural Steel Shapes #2 and Structural Shapes Menu

The anchor bolts will likely not be larger than 3/4" and I would consider a steel backing plate for bearing area.
    Last edited by Kelly_Bramble; 12-20-2013 at 12:20 PM.

Associate Engineer