Thread: Force to turn a generator

Associate Engineer

Force to turn a generator

A total newbie here , please bear my ignorance.
    If I had a moving body and i wanted to generate electricity from this movement , I figured out how to connect it to a generator so when i moves the generator's shaft turns . Now i need to know if the speed of the body will be the same if i didn't connect it to the generator , for example , the force on the body is 5000 N and it's mass is 50 Kg , it will have an acceleration of 100m/s^2 , will this acceleration be the same if it was connected to the generator ( about how it's connected , the body has gear teeth integrated to a drive chain ( like the one in the bicycle) turning gears and turning the generator) , also what will be the efficiency of this generator , will it be like the water turbine ( over 90%)?. Thanks

Senior Engineer

My Two Cents Simple physics

Ignoring how it is connected, any "power" (Watts) produced by the generator will subtract from the "power" (Force x Distance / Time) accelerating the mass, thus it will accelerate at some lower rate or stop as the case may be. Is this a steady state problem?
    Chain drive is a quite efficient way to change mechanical advantage, bicycle chains approach 98%. Plus you have to consider the efficiency of the generator and any bearing losses.

Timelord

Associate Engineer
    Quote Originally Posted by Timelord View Post
    Ignoring how it is connected, any "power" (Watts) produced by the generator will subtract from the "power" (Force x Distance / Time) accelerating the mass, thus it will accelerate at some lower rate or stop as the case may be. Is this a steady state problem?
    Chain drive is a quite efficient way to change mechanical advantage, bicycle chains approach 98%. Plus you have to consider the efficiency of the generator and any bearing losses.

Timelord