Thread: Raising the roof...

Associate Engineer

Confused Raising the roof...

I recently acquired a "pop-up" camper and, due to my age and infirmity, all of the popping is pooping me out!

I need to elevate the ceiling two or three feet -- from a starting height a bit under 4' to an extended height a bit above 6'

I'm wondering whether a hinged pole would provide some degree of leverage and make the job easier.

Roughly speaking, I envision two 3-foot lengths connected with a strong hinge. By placing one end at a strategic point on the ceiling and the other centered on the floor, I wonder whether tugging at the fulcrum to "lever" the roof up would be easier on my poor body than trying to push that heavy roof straight up from a crouched position.

I'm a real amateur at geometry, trigonmetry, physics and (most definitely, engineering), so I have no clue regarding angles and force, etc.

I have estimated that the fulcrum would be at about 80 degrees at the start, and 180 (of course) when fully upright. It seems pretty certain that the lower that initial angle, the less leverage benefit obtained (assuming there is a benefit in the first place).

I hope this inquiry catches someone's fancy. I suspect that it's a pretty simple (maybe even dumb) question; but it could make a big difference in my life as a wanderer.

Thanks in advance.
    Last edited by WanderingDave; 09-03-2011 at 02:47 AM. Reason: typos

Cool

Welcome to Engineers Edge!

I'm having a visualization challenge today... If you don't mind, could you post a picture of your pop-up camper mechanism?

The following is the instructions for posting a picture..

http://www.engineersedge.com/enginee...e-Instructions

Technical Fellow
    Hi Dave and welcome to the forum. Nice First name by the way.