Thread: Wooden Screw Press Calculations....help!

Associate Engineer

Wooden Screw Press Calculations....help!

I am a bit out of my depth here as I am a retired telecoms systems engineer, so I am hoping that one of the mechanical gurus here might be able to nudge me in the right direction. So, I am attempting to design a number of wooden screw configurations for various wood-based applications. Consider, for illustration, a cider press. Suppose that I am using a wooden screw through a wooden nut to drive the plate of the press. I need to calculate the amount of force that I can apply to the plate based upon the following factors:

1 - wood species used
    2 - shear strength parallel to grain of wood
    3 - compression strength perpendicular to grain of wood
    4 - diameter of screw
    5 - threads per inch of screw
    6 - thread type, pitch, depth

As an experienced woodworker, I know that most of the North American hardwoods that I would consider [Beech, Hickory, Hard Maple] for this application have shear and compression values of around 1,500 to 2,500 psi. But I just can't seem to come to a calculation for the screw failure point analysis. For example, I can use the ISO calculator for thread stress area to show that if I have a screw of 3.5 inches in diameter and 2 TPI then the tensile stress area is about 7.1 in2. Okay, this is telling me something, I suppose that I have 7.1 in2 of thread surface to play with. Does this mean that the thread failure point for this example wooden screw/nut may be as high as, say, 10,000 psi [7.1 x 1500]? Seems a bit high to me.

Another approach to the same set of issues is, suppose I know that I need to apply 1 ton to that cider press plate. So I can say that the tensile stress on the screw thread is only about 280 psi [2000/7.1]? So that I can confidently assume to be well within the working stress range of the screw?