Thread: Required wall thickness of a tube

Associate Engineer

:bash: Required wall thickness of a tube

I am not a mechanical engineer, but I am trying to play one on TV......we covered a bit of this in my electrical engineering classes, but not much and that was a looooooong time ago.

We are working to design a steel tube to be used in a spacer with a class 8 bolt fastening system. We are planning a 12L14 steel for the tube. We are trying to get the wall of the tube as thin as possible while ensuring that we will not experience crush or deformation at load. In general, we are looking at something that will be 12mm in length with an ID in the range of 10-13mm.

I have been checking in some of my reference texts and trying to search on-line, but I think that I am not finding the right terms to use to get to the equations that I need to get to my answer.

I believe that I want to have the wall thickness-to-diameter ration greater than 0.1 to ensure that I am working with a thick-walled cylinder. I suspect that I need to be considering Lame's solution...but I am not feeling confident about what direction to go. I also suspect that Young's modulus of steel is also a key factor...more so than the tensile strength of the material.

Can someone point me in the right direction? I am happy to do the math, but I'm not sure what equations/theories to be using. The more I research it, the more I feel I am getting conflicting or erroneous information and just confusing myself.

Technical Fellow
    Welcome Julie,

Firstly, I seriously doubt you will get 12L14 in tube form, but in the make-believe world of TV, I guess it can be conjured up. With it's high Lead content, the 12L14 steel is known for it's free machining qualities and is not a good structural or load bearing material. Given that, Grade 8 bolts to affix 12L14 to anything would be like using a two-handled cast-iron spoon to eat ice cream.