Thread: DIY Reliable 1200hp eddy current DYNO

racerazor

DIY Reliable 1200hp eddy current DYNO

Hello Everyone, Ive never done this before this is my first time on any forum, so i hope that I'm in the right place. Well first off Im 25yrs old I've been rebuilding engine since i was 13 and I've been tuning for quite some time, i moved to Philippines recently from Canada for business purposes. To make things short I'm extremely bored and I'm looking for a project, I'm planning on building a dyno my Goal is to make something along the lines of of Mustang Gladiator Dyno i will list the basic specs bellow, the cost of this dyno out the door with all bells and whistles is 30,000USD, Im planning on opening a business here a nice little tuner shop, i was going to buy this particular dyno, but then i thought to myself why not try to build one i have the time, i will try to save as much cost as possible, and i wanna learn how exactly these work. Believe it or not the Philippines is great for this because labour is cheap...most materials are cheap and well these people will build just about anything, there are some great machine shops here that really do a great job and you can find just about anything you need if you know where to look. Just to give you guys an idea I did a full engine rebuild on my 2004 mazda 3 and aside from having to order the internals from the states cost me about 400$ i got the block cleaned hot tanked and honed along with having the head re-surfaced, cleaned, checked,valve stem seals replaced,single angle valve grind and to top it off port and polish had them swap the pistons off my rods and install new ones, and it only cost 50$ for all of it, plus! i gave them a 10$ tip which they were ecstatic about......now don't get me wrong you have to watch these guys as they are working, the labour is cheap but if your not around to watch their every move you will be sorry. Anyways what I'm looking for is any insight on how to do this I've been researching and