Thread: Using an office chair gas cylinder as a lifting/lowering mechanism

Associate Engineer

Confused Using an office chair gas cylinder as a lifting/lowering mechanism

Hello all!
    This is my first post. I'm a mechanical engineering student and I am working on a lifting/lowering mechanism. It would be lifting/lowering 30 lbs. To give a smooth action (versus other options like a winch, jack, etc.), I would like to use the pneumatic gas cylinder in an office chair if possible. I'd have to stack 3 of them to have the extension range I need, but my main question is:

Office chairs (at least mine) do not seem to lower without the force of my weight. So 30 lbs will probably not push down an office chair cylinder, but could this be done somehow?? I think some chairs can be lifted/lowered without someone sitting on them but I could be wrong. Also, how exactly does the control lever work so simply with the replaceable cylinder? I've researched online, but would like a better explanation if possible.

Thank you for any help
    Last edited by MechE; 09-19-2014 at 12:29 PM.

Adapting an office chair for lifting and lowering is possible but it is likely easier and more cost effective to identify and utilize a pneumatic cylinder already adapted for this task.

Search the internet for "Pneumatic cylinder suppliers". Well known OEM's - Parker, Bimba, SMC USA

Associate Engineer
    Would this fix the whole issue of needing a minimum weight to push the cylinder back down though? That seems to be my main issue. (I was going to buy just a cylinder from the chair idea.) I feel like to not need a large weight to push the cylinder back down, I would need some sort of electric cylinder, and right now anything electric is not an option. Do you agree?

Quote Originally Posted by MechE View Post
    right now anything electric is not an option. Do you agree?