Thread: Scuba filter design

Associate Engineer

Scuba filter design

Hi you guys, I'm working on a project and would like your help. I would like to build my own scuba filter. I have a oilless compressor that can go up to 5000psi. I only need to go up to 3000si max.I am a certified machinist , not a engineer. I have 2 choices of material-7075 aluminum or 316 SS-(please let me know if you think there is something better). I was wanting it to be 16 long x 3 inch dia with a .685 wall for the AL and maybe .250 for the SS. I would make threaded I.D caps about a 11/2 long with Orings. Any suggestion would help. I have successfully made a desiccant filter 12x2x .500 out of 6061 t6 that I have taken up to 6000psi (I was very scared to test it)--I use it at 4500psi. Was I crazy for doing that?? Please let me know what you think Thanks I also sell the compressors if you need one--I guess I'm asking, Is my wall thickness safe?
    Last edited by dieanotherday; 10-12-2014 at 09:02 PM.

I have 2 choices of material-7075 aluminum or 316 SS-(please let me know if you think there is something better). I was wanting it to be 16 long x 3 inch dia with a .685 wall for the AL and maybe .250 for the SS.

Well, guessing at the wall thicknesses is not an optimal approach. You really need an analysis and a functional proof-load test following construction if you're going to use this.

FYI, I would use SS, 304 or better in my design with material trace-ability.
    Last edited by Kelly_Bramble; 10-13-2014 at 12:44 PM.

Lead Engineer
    I would like to infroce the statements by Kelly regarding the need for proper strength analysis and the need for function proof-load (pressurize to failure) testing and should be tested to a minmum of the recommended proof pressure standard for this type of equipment.