Thread: draw bench diy design

Associate Engineer

draw bench diy design

Hey all,
    I am an engineering student studying towards a BEng degree. As part of my design course I am required to design a draw bench that is able to draw tapered brass tubes for french horns. The maximum diametre of the tube is 20mm. For the drawing I wanna construct a slider with two lead screws and a stepper motor at the end of the slider. For the tube I want to insert a tapered mandrel inside and I want to move the mandrel with the tube through steel die washers. The mandrel should be attached to a carriage moving with the lead screws.
    I have problems with selecting materials for the die washer, calculating thr draw force and therefore selecting the appropriate lead screws and motor. If I take the yield stress of brass, assuming that the drawing process requires a plastic deformation, I get draw forces around 10kN. This seems unreasonable since on a couple of youtube videos people were able to draw the tube by hand. I am really worried now since I cant start working on my project. Any help would be appreciated.

Thank you!
    Sam

Do the processes shown on the youtube videos include impact, as with a hammer? That could be your difference.

Associate Engineer
    I am linking the video for you, and I think not, they apply a quasi-constant force.

http://www.engineersedge.com/video/D...-Machine_v1511

The guy doesn't seem too exhausted by the process which suggests that the draw force cannot be in the kN regions.

Cheers,
    Sam
    Last edited by Kelly_Bramble; 11-24-2014 at 11:21 AM.

Lead Engineer