Thread: Downtime for water pump maintenance

Associate Engineer

Downtime for water pump maintenance

I am an investor. Financial forecasts in a proposal I am considering rest on a "100 horsepower pump capable of diverting 780 gallons per minute at 290 feet of head" running continuously at 96% of its rated capacity: 24 hours per day, 365 days a year. I am not an engineer but that looks questionable to me. I would have thought it likely that some downtime would be necessary for maintenance during the course of a year.

Is my layman's view wrong? Can all routine maintenance that might need to be done be done while the pump continues to run?

If not, what sort of downtime might be expected? Just a ball-park figure. 1 percent? 5 percent?

Any guidance would be gratefully received.

100 HP water pump's are as common as tires on a car... Having a backup or having redundancy pumps is cheap and easy. Therefore, running 95% + of the time is not unrealistic.

If the operation is new then one needs to be conservative in up time estimates however if this operation has history and is well managed. Ask what the up time is...

Any plan should include some allowance for downtime, however minimal, even if it is just to replace the running pump with a zero-time pump. Depending on how tolerant the system is for a little downtime arrangements can be made. If the system must absolutely run 100% of the time then I would recommend designing the system with a second fully operational pump already installed and piped in. A flip of a switch and a valve and the running pump becomes the stand-by pump, available for removal and servicing. The next step down from that is to have the necessary structure and equipment in place to enable a quick changeover.