Thread: Boarding Steps

Engineer

Boarding Steps

Hello all.

I hope nobody here is offended by a non-mechanical engineer seeking advice.
    I am an electrical engineer, and tried to use some of the formulas here for stress and deflection, but not sure about specific materials.

Reference drawing below.

I am trying to design boarding steps that will be attached to a dock with the ability to swing up and out of the way - folding back to rest on the dock. When deployed, the steps will swing down such that the lower step is about 1 foot above the water line.

I would like to use 2"X2" 1/8" thick angle steel for the 24" vertical supports, 34" horizontal supports and the step supports. I would like to use 2" 1/8" thick steel plate for the two angle supports.

The steps will be 2X6 pressure treated lumber - two boards for the top step, two boards for the middle step and 4 boards for the lower step.

Two 4 foot pieces of angle steel will be bolted to the deck to anchor the assembly.
    The step assembly will be attached to the deck anchors with 1/2" bolts which will allow the entire step assembly to pivot up and back to reset on the dock when not deployed.

I estimate the weight of the assembly will be about 40 lbs for the steel and about 12 pounds for the lumber for a total of 52 pounds.

Does anyone here see a problem with this design?

Thanks in advance,
    Mike

Attached Images Attached Images

Random comments:
    1) Your overall concept seems sound but you need to lay it all out to scale. 2x6 boards will not arrange themselves as you have shown.
    2) You show a 4x4 block on the bottom corner. Is it stationary or does it move with the steps? Either way you will want a fixed stop at that point to absorb all the force. Do not plan on some kind of stop arrangement up near the hinge point. The closer the stop is to the hinge, the sooner it will fail.