Thread: Freshman engineer computer requirements

Associate Engineer

Freshman engineer computer requirements

So I am a freshman in college looking to be an engineer and i have some questions on computer requirements.

I currently have a Macbook Pro and I like it very much so first question is could I just keep it and do just about everything I need on it without much problem. Would bootcamp or parallels be needed at some point and would that remedy any existing problems? Or would buying a windows based computer be the best solution by far?

A third option I heard a little about was buying an inexpensive chromebook (Asus?) and installing Linux on it I believe. Does anyone have any experience with this or have reasons why it wouldn't work or why it would be fine for things that my mac just couldn't do. Would buying a tablet that is windows based be a viable option with a keyboard and mouse attachment? (I know it would have to be a pretty good size)

Thank you for any and all insight!

Associate Engineer
    Are you doing a CAD based program? Personally I have never seen people do CAD on a Mac.

For CAD programs you want dedicated video ram. This is common in gaming computers. The last one I bought had 512 MB about 6 years ago. I would bet they all have at least that now but the more you have the better.

Associate Engineer
    From a saving money standpoint, it would probably be wise to keep your Macbook Pro for the time being until you reach the limitations of the machine. From my experience, you probably won't as a student. Modern day computers have enough resources to be able to handle the types of assignments that you would likely get in class.

• CAD projects are moderate complexity at most (think about how many projects the professor/TA's will have to grade... An assembly will probably have at most 10-20 parts).