Thread: Help me choose a plastic.

Associate Engineer

Help me choose a plastic.

Hello people. I have zero experience with engineering in any capacity, so I figured I'd register and ask for help from the pros.

I'm a leather worker and my question regards a tool called a maul. Most manufacturers are very vague about the plastic they use for the striking surface. Often they are yellow polyurethane, but some of the high end makers use materials that have better qualities.

Requirements-

Must be sold as tube stock (my machining ability is very limited) 2"/2.5" od

Relatively quiet (maybe a lower durometer?)

Impact resistant (no divots from using against steel stamping tools)

Fairly inexpensive

Durable (should last a long time without the need for replacement)

That about covers what I can think of. Anything you can think of would be appreciated.

I plan to make a few mauls for me and my friends.

A recommendation for supplier would be most helpful.

If this is in the wrong section I apologize in advance. If a mod needs to move it I appreciate your help.

Thanks everyone,

Anthony

Google, Ultra High Molecular Weight (UHMW) Polyethylene rod or bar.

Ebay for a small quantity and low price it is easily shaped-machined with any steel tooling hand or power,
    some old time leather workers used rawhide , hardwood , even brass & lead tools.
    I have worked some leather in the past and the UHMW will work for what you need.
    Remember Google is your friend.

Best regards

Associate Engineer
    That's interesting that you mention uhmw. I work (day job) in a food processing factory and uhmw is the most common self lubricating plastic that we use. It's good stuff, but it does get divots from impacts with small surface area tools like the end of my stamps. It would probably be good for a long time, but I was hoping for something better. Are there different grades of uhmw? Perhaps the stuff I'm used to working with has a particularly low durometer?