Thread: A Challenge - To Any Structural/Electrical/Areo Engineers, Physicists, Scientists

Associate Engineer

A Challenge - To Any Structural/Electrical/Areo Engineers, Physicists, Scientists

Hello everyone,

I am brand-new to this forum, and I signed up with a singular purpose. I wished to present a challenge that has been dogging me for years, to a community of professional and (more importantly) knowledgeable people, who could tell me A) whether this was at all practical outside of theory, and B) how expensive it would have to be, how heavy, etc. As I am no engineer, or scientist, I have no choice but to present it in a forum. If I had the know-how, I'd simply do it myself. I do have a basic understanding of physics, electrical work, mechanical and engineering work, but I am not formally educated in these matters; my knowledge comes exclusively from talking to experts.

So, let's get to it, shall we?

I have always been enamored by airships. The seeming impossibility of something so large, floating almost delicately in the sky, has always held my attention. It was a terrible shame when the entire industry was shut down by a single accident(Hindenburg). Which is why I was so excited to read articles a few years ago about a possible resurgence of airship usage, primarily for military purposes but there were mentions of civilian models. Which brings me to my post's point. I would like your help, community, to flush out an airship design(or rather, concept) that I've had rolling around my head for ages.

I'd like to run through my various ideas, and let me re-iterate that I am not an engineer. That's why I'm here; to get some professional advice, and hopefully technical help, on this theory.