Thread: Need some advice on getting started

Associate Engineer

Need some advice on getting started

Hello, I need some general help from Engineers in the United States.

I graduated from an Engineering University in Istanbul, Turkey and did a few internships while there. After that I basically did some unrelated jobs before moving to New York. My goal was to study finance and find work as an engineer or perhaps another internship in finance. I had some money saved up and also a citizenship, so I thought I'd take my chances in the big apple.

Well, long story short, I'm having trouble actually getting on my feet in the engineering world. I won't bore you with my story, but I'm simply in need of some counseling.

I'm taking some courses in Baruch College for finance, but they couldn't really answer my questions concerning Engineering regulations in the US.

My main worry is that I'm sending out these resumes in vain. Do I need an NCEES license on top of my degree if a company is to hire me? What else would I need?

Please excuse me if these seem trivial or if I'm breaking any rules. Thank you!

Associate Engineer
    The problem stems from the classification of "engineer" in countries other than the U.S. In many countries, an engineer is a person with general knowledge in various fields, basically a maintenance tech. In the U.S. an engineer will have extensive knowledge in one particular field, such as Structural, Electrical, Plumbing, Mechanical. This person has knowledge to design items within their field that meet state and federal specifications including limiting failure of components and the entire project. If you want to be an engineer, you will need to pick a specific field, go to school to get a degree in that specific field. That usually takes from 2 to 6 years, depending on previous college experience.

Associate Engineer
    Thank you for replying!