Thread: Transitioning to mechanical engineering, where to start?

Associate Engineer

Transitioning to mechanical engineering, where to start?

Hey everyone,
    I'm glad I've been able to find a forum full of like minded people. Hopefully I can find some helpful answers here, so I'll get right to it here.
    I'm currently attending college courses majoring in mechanical engineering. I have been working in the HVAC industry now for 10 years and I am fully licensed here in the state of Connecticut. I do service, installs, and maintenance of nearly all forms of mechanical equipment in commercial and industrial buildings.
    That being said, I am currently in my first year of college but I would like to know if, considering my work experience, I would be able to find a job in the engineering field as early as this year? I don't expect to be hired immediately as an engineer as I don't yet have the required licensing and certification. But is there a position or positions I can apply to that would let me get in the door?

After 10 years I'm finding that my current career just isn't enough for me. While my job is extremely technical at times, and I am very good at what I do, I want to do more with my life.
    For perspective, I am 26, married with 2 kids, working and going to school full time. It hasn't been difficult yet but I'm expecting greater intensity in the future. My current GPA is a 4.0.

All things considered I'm hoping to break into the engineering field this year but I'm just not sure where to begin from where I am now.

Thanks to anyone who can help me out here.

Principle Engineer
    Think about this - Consider getting a Stationary Engineers license so you can get a night job watching some hospital or school HVAC plant. Study when things aren't busy and go to school during the day.

Quote Originally Posted by G_Tibbs View Post