Thread: Customer-driven design and "when to say when."

Bang Head Customer-driven design and "when to say when."

Hello, forum friends.

As some of you may know, I work as a product design coordinator for a company that manufactures equipment racks and cabinets for the telecommunications industry. Our frames support servers, routers, switches, power supplies, battery backup systems and a host of other pieces of equipment. Many of our frames have been certified for seismic zone 3 and 4 use and I am very familiar with the GR-63-CORE testing process used for said certification. I am experienced in the production processes we use to manufacture these frames and in the design and development as well. I also have many years experience in sales and dealing directly with customers.

I am having difficulties in offering solutions to customer installation challenges while still maintaining a framework with the integrity to pass the stringent GR-63-CORE testing. Our base frame is plenty stout, but due to its design, some areas that are critical for support are causing accessibility issues with cable, fiber and airflow control. One of my customers asked if we could punch a 3" diameter hole in each of the four corners at the top of the frame to allow them direct access for a 2" diameter bundle of fiber into the interior of the frame. They currently have to bring the fiber into the top of the frame and make a slight jog around a gusset to the location to which they wish to secure it. To punch a 3" hole through the top would effectively render the gusset useless and to redesign the gusset to accommodate a 3" opening would require redesigning other parts of the cabinet significantly, resulting in a frame that must be submitted for seismic testing (at $2500 per day!).

How do you folks deal with customers who want it "just like what you already have there, but different"?

Frustrated...

Ron

Technical Fellow
    Quote Originally Posted by CCR5600Design View Post