Thread: principles of leveraged rotation

Associate Engineer

principles of leveraged rotation

I'm not an engineer but I like to make mechanical inventions. I have a question regarding the ability to leverage rotation. I don't expect anyone has time for lengthy discourse, but if you could clue me in on the basic or particular design principle behind it, I can do the research myself.
    Let me describe what I would like to do--if it's even possible. A yoyo will make a single rotation if the string is pulled exactly the same distance as the circumference of it's axis (around which the string is wrapped). What I need to design is, for sake of example only, a yoyo, mounted on an extended axis, that rotates several times, rather than only once, when the string is pulled the same distance as the axis' circumference. I understand that it will probably require gears and extra work (energy) but I need to know if it is even possible and what would be the design principle behind it so that I can look it up and inform myself on the principle--if it is possible.
    Thank you in advance.
    Last edited by clarkepeters; 10-31-2011 at 02:08 AM.

Associate Engineer
    I've been thinking on this for days, but just as I made this post I think it dawned on me how to do it.

I have the yoyo on an extended axis. To get more rotation for the same distance pulled string (work/force), I will need an additional axis that will hold the gears that will help me get more leverage.