Thread: Profile tolerance

Associate Engineer

Profile tolerance

Hello Forum,

Newbie here. I'd like to get some input on the following:

The company I currently work for has instituted some "across the board" tolerances on certain parts. First of all
    I'll just say that most of this is standard sheet metal panels, brackets etc... I'm new here and have a fairly good understanding of GD&T practices. I'm working on a series of panels with "standard" D-hole cutouts for circular military connectors. As most know the flat surface on the connector and subsequent cutout is simply to prevent the connector from clocking while the jamnut of the connector is being torqued. Their "standard" d-hole cutout detail shows a surface profile tolerance of .002 on the flat. (see attach) They do this on all D cutouts regardless of connector size/hole diameter. I contend that this is way overkill. I would say that not only is the tolerance way too tight for the intended application, but a "surface profile" tolerance is not needed at all. True position is fine, but I would think a standard +/- tolerance from lower quadrant to flat would suffice. Thoughts? (They insist on keeping this, no explanation)
    Attached Images Attached Images

The Profile of surface tolerance is more explicit than a limit tolerance and position tolerance would not really be applicable exclusively to the "flat".

I assume that the datums A|D|B are appropriate to orient the flat clocking/holding feature.

As far as the profile of surface tolerance .002 which roughly translates to +/- .001 the manufacture-ability depends on the process employed to create this feature. I tend to agree that a profile of .002 seems a little tight for this particular clocking feature.

The position tolerance for the hole is dia. .125 at MMC and .135 at LMC which is quite generous and large with respect to the Profile of surface tolerance on the flat .002. - seems an odd combination.