Thread: Referencing a datum to another with different tolerances

Associate Engineer

Talking Referencing a datum to another with different tolerances

Hello, let me just tell you guys what a great forum you have here. I was some sort of lurker for a long time ( sorry for that) and now I have a problem of my own.

I work at a machine shop and last week we receive a part which I don't have any idea where it goes but it has something weird ( or maybe weird to me). The CMM guy left and I have little experience controlling parts, so that's why I come to you for help.

The part has 3 datums "A"curved surface, "B" a 3 hole pattern and "C" a semi-circle. The thing is datum C and B reference each other but with different tolerances. Is this possible? I mean isn't it redundant? Because when I control the part with a CMM the semicircle with respect to the pattern passes but the pattern with respect to the semicircle don't.

Looking at the drawing A controls the Y position, B the Z position and C the X position. I know that when you are measuring C you want to know the real position in X and Y. I think that's why it references A also. I just want an explanation to clear my mind on this. I can't scan the original drawing but I am attaching a very similar one that I made.

Thanks in advance
    Attached Images Attached Images

Technically, one can define a part with these datums...

When measuring one simply establishes the datums as specified... So, the R .250 +/- .005 is measured after establishing a datum zero from primary datum feature A and secondary datum feature B.

The three holes Dia. .125 +/- .001 is measured from a datum reference established from datum C feature and so on. Each measurement is a separate setup.

I agree that the specifications are suspect from a design point of view. Also, I suspect that the units are inches as opposed to mm as indicated by the leading zeros usage.
    Tell me and I forget. Teach me and I remember. Involve me and I learn.