Thread: Help! Possibly switching careers to biomedical engineering. Input appreciated :)

Associate Engineer

Help! Possibly switching careers to biomedical engineering. Input appreciated :)

Hi all,
    I have been a Registered Nurse for five years; however, I am now thinking about switching careers. Math has always been a passion of mine, and I often regret not majoring in engineering. With my medical background, I thought Biomedical Engineering might be a great fit. The only issue is that I really do not know much about this area, and have limited resources.Could anyone give me some input on Biomedical Engineering? Would the career change be worth it? What is a normal day like for a Biomedical Engineer? Any insight would be much appreciated!Thank you so much in advance!
    Last edited by Kelly_Bramble; 06-25-2016 at 08:20 AM. Reason: sentence spaces

Would the career change be worth it?

I doubt it...

Strong math knowledge will help you get through the academics however not all engineers calculate for a living..

The cost of the education, degree and career switch is unlikely to make you any richer.

What is a normal day like for a Biomedical Engineer?
    Depends on the role. Be aware that there is not any assurances that you get a job as a Biomedical Engineer just because you get a degree in the field.

Go this route because of passion..
    Tell me and I forget. Teach me and I remember. Involve me and I learn.