Thread: Two U shaped retaining walls

Associate Engineer

Two U shaped retaining walls

Hi All,

So i'm a junior structural engineer (finished 2 years of uni part of civil engineering BEng course currently on my gap year) and I've been tasked with designing two retaining walls.

Details about retaining walls:

wall 1 has a U shape and has side walls of height 1m each and a span of 2m between them. As far as i'm aware they are going to be used to store pipes/cables in them. I need to design them to take a 45T truck to go either on top of them or next to them. I will also need to design some sort of steel plate to go over them that has holes or gaps for easy access. So my question is, how do i design them for this? do i split them both up in symmetrical shapes and toe them or design as one wall?? I do not have soil investigation for the site so my boss told me to use prety bad soil for this (roughly 17-22kN/m3 strength and angle between 35-40) I will be using Design of Structural Elements (3rd edition) books calculations so if you're familiar with it then let me know where to look.

My 2nd wall is similar but 1 side is 1m high and the other is 1.5m and 2m apart with a base. same questions apply.

Just to let you know I have no restricting factors to make this work so anything goes as long as they stick to those measurements.

Please help, I've designed retaining walls before but i am not sure how to even approach this u shaped wall.

Do you have a sketch of the proposals? It's quite hard to visualise on dims and weights alone.

Associate Engineer
    Here are some diagrams
    Attached Images Attached Images