Thread: Pressure's effect on spring rate.

Pressure's effect on spring rate.

I have a little project I have been designing for 3 months now off and on. Basically it is a double acting steam engine. No this is not for homework and I am not taking any type of classes. I am just interested in the power of steam lately and believe I can build a steam engine. Yes I am plenty aware of the dangers and am taking caution upon precaution to ensure my safety.

After several design changes this is the layout I have decided to start building. Note these are very crude drawings. I am more of a person who just builds things then one who designs them.

Basic layout;

Valve in detail; With the one on the left being fed steam and the one on the right just being fired and now closed for the steam to expand.

Basically I am taking an ICE inline 6 engine that is internally balanced and removing all the cylinder rings except for one to reduce the friction and retaining the cam to allow the oil pump to feed the short block. The Ice cylinders become dead moving within the cylinder sleeve so that the steam rod mounted to them and above them is able to move along a vertical axis. The head is of course gone and replaced with my version of a double acting steam cylinder.
    The steam cylinder does not have any rings. It is designed to be operated at high rpm with very tight clearances to the walls to prevent leakage. I am doing this with a small cylinder with seals and bearings on top and bottom to retain the rod and keep the piston centered. The piston is slightly curved upward towards the edges and has 2 protruding rods. These rods will push up two valves injecting steam into the cylinder. The exhaust is centralized for simplicity allowing higher rpm use.