Thread: newbie here.....how to accurately measure distances of around 30 feet ??

atopper33

newbie here.....how to accurately measure distances of around 30 feet ??

hello...ive been in the machinist / fabrication / industrial maintenance / automation fields since 1995. i have no formal college degrees, all on the job education so please keep that in mind.

im currently building cnc automated machining centers for the window **********. im trying to find a way to accurately measure a distance of approximately 30 feet .... ( 30.000 ) any help and ideas will be greatly appricated

thanks in advance

atopper33
    let me also says that ive come here looking for a " think tank" type place to talk about some of my work related ideas....just looking for like minded people, smarter than me. i need to keep my mind stimulated.
    i have much respect for everyone here and the knowledge and experience they have..

Laser measuring devices are going to your bets bet. I don't know if the accuracy is enough, maybe you'll get +/- .015" max unless technology has improved.

atopper33
    the machine has a feeder with multiple tracks....a gripper in each track on a long arm that grips the tail end of material and feeds it thru the machine. gripper assembly moves back and forth on a extruded aluminum rail that has a linear rail and bearing setup. timing belt and idler pulley at one end and servo motor driven pulley at other end.. this rail is roughly 250 " long. the material is being fed thru a cnc saw , multiple tracks of material at a time.

the issue is that if the linear bearing rail is not PERFECTLY straight and the movement of the assembly thru the length of the rail. it causes a steering effect at the gripper end at the material. . basically this makes the cut lengths of material vary too much in length.