Thread: Hole Pattern with GD&T

Associate Engineer

Welcome Hole Pattern with GD&T

Hello Guys,

I'm new in GD&T topic so I would like to ask a bit help from the group!
    I have a task what I should solve. I have a rectangular hole pattern where I have two position tolerance. I'm a bit uncertain about the position tolerance with datums. I have no MMC or LMC in this case.

I have attached a picture about the task. Could somebody help me and could explain how can I define and calculate this pattern position?

gd&t.png

Thanks in advance for your help,
    Best Regards!

The upper horizontal Feature Control Frame (FCF) specifies that relative to the datum reference frame (coordinate system) established by datum A (primary) and datum B (secondary) that each of the four as built holes axis independently from start to finish must fall within diametric tolerance boundaries of dia. 0.2 mm located at the basic dimensions. The position tolerance is applied at Regardless of Feature size (RFS) - no modifier.

The lower FCF specifies that there are four diametric tolerance boundaries equal to dia. 0.05 mm applied at RFS that are located at the basic dimensions from each other as a pattern. This pattern of four tolerance boundaries can move left, right, up and down but must move as a pattern. Each of the as-built hole features from start to finish must fall with their perspective tolerance cylinders.

Both upper and lower Feature Control frames apply simultaneously.

The holes are to be as manufactured at dia. 2 mm not to exceed a tolerance specified by H7 - probably ~ per. ISO 286. I have not seen the whole engineering drawing so I'm guessing.

The above applies to ASME, ANSI and ISO dimensioning and Tolerancing standards.
    Tell me and I forget. Teach me and I remember. Involve me and I learn.

Associate Engineer
    Thanks for your help. The situation is clear with one exception. This is the upper horizontal frame with A-B datums.