Thread: Helpful Math Elective

Associate Engineer

Helpful Math Elective

Hello. I am currently a sophomore in college who is pursuing a BS in Mechanical Engineering (highly considering going for an MS), and I am tagging on a mathematics minor. I have planned out most of my college career up to a 4-year degree, but the one spot I have trouble with is the additional math elective I need to complete my minor. What is a good elective that applies to Mechanical Engineering, or just engineering in general? I was thinking about Dynamical Systems, but am still unsure. The classes that I have taken/are taking/are planning to take are:
    Calculus I and II (taken)
    Differential Equations w/Linear Algebra (taking)
    Calculus III and Engineering Statistics (planning to take next semester)

Any opinions/suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thank you

Do you not have a guidance counselor? Also, I was not aware that an ME degree effort would allowed for a minor.. At University of Texas Arlington all engineering majors required Calculus I, II, III and Differential Equations and this was specified as a minimum for any engineering degree.

Where are you going to college?
    Tell me and I forget. Teach me and I remember. Involve me and I learn.

Associate Engineer
    My adviser specialized in the ME department, not as much Mathematics, but I am also planning to talk to the head of the math department and ask for any recommendations.