Thread: Question about a single-piece manufacturing process [images provided]

Associate Engineer

Question Question about a single-piece manufacturing process [images provided]

Hello everyone, I'm a Mechanical Engineering student and currently working on a design project and need to come up with a recommendation about a manufacturing process or processes, that can achieve the design on the picture as one-piece. I have narrowed a few processes after long hours of research, Extrusion is an option, but I can't seem to find a way for producing the internal geometry of the shell (the tip on the open end). With impact extrusion, a die at the desired angle and an impact tool with the internal shape would be an option, but I will have both ends open. Need to have the bottom end closed, that and the chunk at the tip are my main problems. The material is Aluminum.
    Here's a pic of the design with its cross-section:

Any input will be much appreciated. Thanks in advance!
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by phaze721; 01-23-2012 at 11:18 AM. Reason: Picture looked very small.

As a student you need to do the leg work to figure this out. Reason being... as you look into different methods of manufacture... you will become more familiar with each method. You are gaining exposure to the wonderful world of manufacturing!!

Let me see if I can give you some food for thought?

There are more things to consider other than just "how do I make this?" Like the saying goes... There's always more than one way to skin a cat. The real trick is figuring out how to make it profitably...!