Thread: Question on beam

Associate Engineer

Question on beam

I'm a hydraulic engineer by trade, so I'm a little rusty on structural problems. I have a shop behind my house that I am looking to install a beam with a pulley to lift +/- 1500 lbs straight up and down. The span is 14' with posts supporting both ends. I prefer not to use an ibeam due to the costs. How many separate 6" or 8" square channel will it take to support this load?

Thanks.

Technical Fellow
    Welcome to the forum.

I have a hydraulic pump that has a label saying 3000 psi. What size pump do I need?

All too often we get question and nowhere near enough detail to even make an educated guess. "Straight down," is that a technical term for weight x distance?

OK, sarcasm all put aside now, where is the load? In the middle, distributed evenly all across the 14'? Is the "pulley" on a trolley that can be moved along the beam? Can the load swing? How are the posts supported against tipping over? Are they steel? Bolted to the floor?

Finally, steel is steel, is steel and welding chunks of channel together to arrive at the same strength as a lump of I-Beam has it's limitations. And, it will probably cost more. The I-Beams are designed to use the minimum amount of metal to achieve a certain level of stiffness. The beam's own weight is an important factor and four lengths of channels welded would have more weight than an equivalent I-beam.

Associate Engineer
    Thanks for the reply and point taken. The posts are 6x6 wood buried 2-3 feet down and poured in concrete. The beam will be sitting on top of the posts and bolted down. The weight will be on a pulley system that can move from end to end. Anything else?

Technical Fellow
    Quote Originally Posted by ricksm View Post
    The weight will be on a pulley system that can move from end to end. Anything else?