Thread: What's the point to use for calculating torque?

Associate Engineer

What's the point to use for calculating torque?

Hey there, I know I'm brand new here, but I've got a question that I'm trying to figure out. I'm not an engineer of any sort btw, just a humble millwright So anyways, I'm working on a bit of a project in my head right now, and I need to know what distance to use when calculating torque. I have a 8 inch nut that needs to be tightened down on a shaft. Would I calculate my torque off of the OD of the nut, or would I measure off of the center of the nut? Any help would be muchly appreciated! Thanks a lot!
    Austin

Technical Fellow
    Hi Austin, and welcome to the forum. we are all humble here, well most of us are anyway.

It is not quite as simple as that. Do you know the load you want the nut to exert on the bolt when it is as tight as you need it? Using the thread Pitch, you will need to calculate the force required to stretch the bolt or crush a lock washer to provide the desired tightness.

Armed with that, you can work towards the length of a wrench for a human or machine to tighten it to said load. Use the center-line of the bolt (or nut, it is the same) and the point on the outer end of the wrench handle where the turning force (your hands) will be applied.

That might get you started.

Associate Engineer
    "centerline of bolt" Yup, that's exactly what I needed. So, no, I have no idea about all the forces and pitches, I just know that the engineering department is supposed to be getting me a torque value in the next few days and I have to figure out a way to get the nut there. Somewhere around 1700 ft/lbs i believe Anyways, I really appreciate the help!

Quote Originally Posted by AustinS View Post