Thread: Identifying a force

Confused Identifying a force

Hello,

I am not an engineer and I am trying to identify the scientific name of a force/tension that occurs in a particular situation.

We have two pins on one side and two boreholes on the other side.
    The distance between center of the pins is shorter than the distance between the center boreholes.
    When the two sides are put together, the pins go into the boreholes but a force/tension is created due to the uneven distances.
    When they go into the boreholes, the pins are deformed or put under tension.

I am desperately searching if there is a scientific name or term for this.

Many thanks !

It's not clear what the loading is from your description but there are six types of stress induced by loading:

Compression
    Tension
    Shear
    Bending
    Torsion
    Fatigue

There can also be combinations of loading, like Bending-Torsion.
    Tell me and I forget. Teach me and I remember. Involve me and I learn.

Principle Engineer
    The deliberate misalignment of locating pins creates an "interference fit".

Quote Originally Posted by Hudson
    The deliberate misalignment of locating pins creates an "interference fit".
    "Deliberate misalignment of locating pins" is a definition for interference fit that I have not come across before.

As someone who had distant proximity to machining in general and tool & die work in particular, my recollection is that while misalignment of locating pins occured on jobs, it was NOT deliberate. I will readily concede that one machinist of my acquaintance whose style of workmanship led to misalignment of locating pins would have attempted to dismiss the error by claiming that he INTENDED for this to happen.

Quote Originally Posted by laster View Post
    We have two pins on one side and two boreholes on the other side.

... When the two sides are put together, the pins go into the boreholes ...