Thread: Rotate using hydraulics

Brian Matlack

Rotate using hydraulics

Hi!
    I'm new to the forum so thank you in advance for your patience.
    I'm not an engineer, just an ole farm boy trying to build some hay equipment.
    I am using Inventor 2012

I am looking for a way to take a 4"X4"X60" square tube and rotate (invert) it 180 degrees (length wise) using a single 12" stroke hydraulic cylinder.

Any thoughts, ideas or guidence would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks again in advance for your help. Have A Great Day!!

Technical Fellow
    Quote Originally Posted by Brian Matlack View Post
    I am looking for a way to take a 4"X4"X60" square tube and rotate (invert) it 180 degrees (length wise) using a single 12" stroke hydraulic cylinder.
    Hi Brian, welcome to the forum.

Turning anything 180-deg with a straight action is always going to be difficult, but there are some cheats you can try.

1:
    Does it really have to be a full 180? Can it be 175? That may be doable without cheating.

2:
    At the end of the extending drive of the cylinder have the clevis (or whatever) contact a compression spring about 2" out from full 180. When the return is selected, the spring will start the movement back and overcome any over-center lock that may have been set up. You could even have a similar spring on the return end to assist starting.

Thinking... thinking... thinking...

Hi Brian and welcome to the forum,
    Like Dave said... do you really need 180? what he has in mind would surely be the least expensive and least complicated way to go.
    If you do need 180 then let me run this by you...

Couple questions...