Thread: Drawing Standard Practices

Macguyver

Drawing Standard Practices

Hello, just found the forum, I've been looking for a community like this recently so I'm hoping that I can get some advice I need while also offering assistance when I can based on my own experience.

A little background about myself, I have been a CAD Designer/Engineer for close to 15 years, working on a multitude of different types of products and tooling from automotive, aerospace, furniture **********. Before getting into design I worked under my father's tutilage from a young age in his fabrication shop, building conveyors and other material handling systems, cutting, welding, painting, we did it all as it was a small shop. I also worked in maintenance and as a machinist for a few years. So I have a pretty diverse background from both sides.

I recently started a new position as a design reviewer & drawing checker for a large material handling company in their R&D department. They have a long history and outdated standards. They also are very set in their ways and while the managers are fairly young and wish update the standards at some point we aren't there yet. With all that said, I have some issues with how they like to do things because I've never seen it done in the ways they are doing it. Now I'm not saying I'm right, I'm trying to find clarification because they have tasked me with bringing a fresh perspective and trying to steer them towards better manufacturability of their parts and yet I'm meeting incredible resistance, which I expected.