Thread: Job Hunting

Job Hunting

I have become totally burned out with this over my career spanning some 15 years. I’ve always wanted to work in aerospace, but always found that all that was available to me was contract work, where I would just show up on a job site put out a fire and then have my contract finished up within a few months. These were largely jobs doing mechanical design and drawing checking with no expansion on to other subjects. I find that if I want to get a steady job somewhere as a direct hire, I can get interviews, but when I go to interview they’re asking me questions like “have you ever managed a product through its full lifecycle?” or “have you ever done structural analysis or composite analysis?”, etc. I did plenty of this kind work when I was in school, but I have no professional experience in these areas. This usually results in me not getting the job, and it just seems like hunting for work is a sysuphean ordeal. I’m just about at the point where I’m going to quit and seek employment in another area. I would’ve loved to have things work out as an engineer but nothing ever did, and I partly blame the companies for this, wanting a highly experienced employee to work for peanuts and then be disposable at the whims of management. I just can’t ever seem to overcome these kinds of work experience catch 22‘s to get steady work. Does anybody else experienced this in the workforce as an engineer?

Speaking from the other end of the career road: Widen your options. Don't restrict yourself. There are LOTS more fields out there than aerospace. In fact, "aerospace engineering" could be described as a subset or derivative from basic mechanical engineering. The same is true of many other disciplines.