Thread: Lateral wind thrust on fence

Associate Engineer

Lateral wind thrust on fence

I have no engineering skills, but I have 30 years experience with fence. We are bidding a 16' high sound wall. Three sides, two short ends are 12' long and the long middle is 80'. We will be attaching a 1/4" thick sound abatement material that weighs 1 lb per square foot. Two questions: 1) How do I determine the bending moment at the base of the fence posts in a 60 mph wind? 2) How do I convert that number into what size posts I should use? I will have an engineer calc it when I get the job, I just want an idea of what I can bid the job with.

Any help?

Hi and welcome to the forum...
    That's quite a kite you're dealing with there. Seems the better idea might be to consult your engineer before you bid...? What if some unknown on the internet whose credentials you have not a clue... tells you to use fifty posts this big by this big and it turns out they were full of it? Then you get the job and find out you'll have to use 100 of those posts...

The cost for the engineers service prior to bidding would be minimal and well worth it... It's called the cost of opportunity.

Good luck...!
    Bob

Technical Fellow
    Quote Originally Posted by Teach Me View Post
    How do I determine the bending moment at the base of the fence posts in a 60 mph wind
    Gotta say I am with Bob (RW..) 100%. I know it is the most often intoned reply to things like this, and I know it is not what you want to hear, but 16' high x 80' long is a huge load. The end pieces will not count for much support unless the entire 80' wall is structurally rigid and self supporting and that would be a total and excessive waste of materials.