Thread: Solar Canopy strength

Solar Canopy strength

First off, I’m an audio engineer. I’ve designed a solar canopy for my catamaran. All materials to be TIG welded 6061-T6. Assuming the connections to the deck are secure (thru-bolted with backing plates), I have two questions:

1. will it fall over in 110Kt winds (panel uplift rating)?
    2. can it take a sudden stop from 7Kts (hit a reef)?

My calculations:
    Weight of six solar panels = 455#. Weight of Structure = 440#

Uplift wind loading @ 110 Knots (50#/SqFt)
    Surface area of canopy = 206 SqFt
    206SqFt x 50#/SqFt = 10,030 #
    Leg loadings: 10,030# / 12 legs= 835#
    (excludes strut contribution)

Qnty & Materials:
    4 Main Beams: 3” x 3” x .187 wall tube
    2 Top Plate: 4.0” x 1.5” x .187” wall tube
    12 Legs: 3” dia x .187 wall tube (2-‘W’, 2-straight, 2-ladder)
    4 Struts: 1” x .25” wall tube

Any help would be appreciated
    Attached Files Attached Files

This is a question that we see on Engineers Edge occasionally. An engineering answer is impractical for a volunteer as that would require a significant amount of work -modeling, questions, right software, detail drafting, materials, etc.

My guess? 40 + hours for an experienced analysis engineer who happens to have the right expensive software. You're unlikely to get the help you are asking for.

My quick glance - it's strong enough to support properly installed solar panels, use marine grade aluminum and navigate the boat clear from hurricanes.
    Tell me and I forget. Teach me and I remember. Involve me and I learn.

Regarding your questions:

Will it fall over in 110Kt winds (panel uplift rating)?