Thread: Request advice towards the design of a mechanical system (Read On...)

Associate Engineer

Request advice towards the design of a mechanical system (Read On...)

Hello, I'm new to this forum and I'm not too sure if this is the best place to ask but here goes:

I'm a mechanical Technician who works in a company that specializes in extruded tubes.

We have a duo deburring machine that deburrs the ends of short length round aluminium tube (100mm - 128mm).

I've been given the task to come up with a design / concept where 1000+ tubes can be automatically fed into the machine.

Currently an operator has to feed in 4 tubes (a handful) at a time then move round to the output side and store the finished tubes in a box for packaging.

It's time consuming and theres an easy 2 tonne amount of tube per job to feed into the machine. (See first image below)

I have some ideas and a few drawings / sketches, though I haven't got access to CAD or any engineering aided design software, just a pencil....for now at least

My reason for making this post is to ask for some guidance and help from experianced engineers who perhaps can constructively critisize my concepts and possibly add own ideas in order to help me find a suitable design.

Below are a few images I risk to show as I believe showing everything will breach company policy and possibly affect my job.

The first image shows the box of tube to be fed into the machine. The idea is to get as much of this tube automatically fed in however it's unlikely a full box could be fed in as the workspace is small and a system would be complex for it to work.

The second image show how the current tube is fed in via two supporting brackets - up to about 20 tube can be stored onto the machine at a time.

The third image shows the left side of the machine internally where the tube is moved horizontally on a green nylon strip where a wire brush drum rotates and deburrs the ends of the tube.