Thread: Faro Arm vs CMM (Aerospace)

Associate Engineer

Faro Arm vs CMM (Aerospace)

I would like to hear some thoughts on this...... I am a Manufaturing Engineer in the Aerospace Industry and just cought wind that a (new) supplier we have used is using a Faro 7 axis arm to inspect the tooling they make for us, more specifically a drill jig with a angled drill bushing whole that has to be within .002 TP Is the Faro Arm adequite for this?????

My first thought:
    Have you seen any evidence that their parts are not meeting the specs? Your company pays that supplier to produce those parts to a certain spec. As long as they meet that spec, it really doesn't matter how they do it, right?
    You want suppliers to be competitive and creative, right? Let them do it their way.

Second thought:
    Your own research on the exact capabilities of the Faro 7 arm (like from their literature) will mean more than random anonymous comments from an engineering forum. Don't get me wrong. Nothing wrong with asking. Maybe someone on here has experience and can tell you that the Faro arm didn't meet its claimed capabilities. Just don't make any business decisions on something you haven't personally verified.

Oh, and welcome to the forum. Hope my rough response doesn't inhibit your future questions. We really do appreciate them.

Associate Engineer
    "Hope my rough response doesn't inhibit your future questions" NEVER
    I can be very rough myself and have more respect for those who don't sugar coat.

"Have you seen any evidence that their parts are not meeting the specs?"
    We have not recieved any tooling from these folks yet to determine if their Faro Arm compares to our Zeiss yet. HOWEVER, when talking to them on the phone they seemed to be blown away with the tolerences we had on our tooling prints..... Also this supplier was chosen as the owner is a friend of our purchasing manager. I am very open minded to new ideas as long as the end result is the same.