Thread: Wheel nut torque measurement

Abhishek Saxena

Wheel nut torque measurement

Hello All

This is my first post in this forum. I am trying to understand the behaviour of wheel stud in the wheels of a vehicle. I am mainly concerned about wheel nut torque. My questions are as follows:
    1. The mentioned torque is wheel tightening or wheel loosening torque?
    2. What is the behaviour followed by wheel stud when the vehicle is moving. Do they get tightened or loosened, in what pattern?
    3. What are the main factors on which tightening and loosening torque depends on?
    4. Why always wheel nuts are tightened and loosen in cris-cross positions?
    5. It is always said to measure torque values in ambient temperature conditions. What will happen to the torque values if we measure them in hot and extremely cold conditions.

Thank you

Regards
    Abhishek

Associate Engineer
    Hey Abhishek,

Here are my thoughts. I am by no means an expert, but this is what makes sense to me.

1. Wheel nuts are usually tightened with a torque wrench set at a particular torque. It is probably what you are calling "wheel tightening torque".

2. The wheel stud experiences shear when the vehicle is sitting still or moving straight. It is under tension when the vehicle is turning. If you're looking straight at the tread of a tire, there is a sideways force at the bottom of the tire. This creates a torque about the center axis of the wheel, which is reacted by the wheel nuts. This shouldn't loosen the nuts by itself. Nuts usually loosen because of vibrations. If you use the correct torque spec, you shouldn't have an issue with nuts loosening.

3. Some factors that come to mind are the load that the nut will experience, and if anything (bearings?) need to be preloaded by the nuts. Someone else may be able to give you a better answer.